FAQs

Explorre_Seciton_Header_Bg

Q: Where can I buy Roth Cheese?

A: Retailers and restaurants across the country stock our products. However, many businesses purchase our cheeses through specialty food distributors and we’re not always aware of the “final destination” of our cheeses. Your best bet is to ask for our cheeses by brand name (i.e. Buttermilk Blue® from Roth). Your local grocery store should be able to source any of our cheeses for you. Send us an email if you are looking for a particular Roth variety, and we’ll do our best to track down a retail outlet in your area. You can also check out the Find Our Products section of our website or buy online.

Q: When is the best time to visit?

A: Our cheesemakers get an early start to the day, so the best times to catch some action in the viewing hall are from 9:00am to 1:00pm.

Alp and Dell Store Viewing Hall Hours: View Map
Monday – Friday: 9:00am — 6:00pm
Saturday: 9:00am — 5:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am — 5:00pm

The store and viewing hall are CLOSED on New Year’s Day, Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas.

Q: Are your cheeses suitable for vegetarians?

A: The main concern for vegetarians is the type of rennet, or coagulant, used in the cheesemaking process. The majority of Roth cheeses, such as Grand Cru®, Buttermilk Blue® and GranQueso® are crafted with vegetarian rennet from GMO-free micro-organisms. If you have any questions about a particular variety, please feel free to drop us a line: info@emmirothusa.com

Q: Are Roth cheeses gluten-free?

A: We take many precautions to inhibit cross-contamination of allergens, including gluten, during the production and packaging of our cheeses. All Roth cheeses fall below the FDA’s definition for gluten-free products. While the blue mold cultures used to make our blue-veined cheeses are grown on bread, our mold incubation process and purification reduces the amount of gluten in the cheese cultures. In the cheese making process, a small amount of this culture (about 100 mg per 200 liters of milk) is used per vat. Testing has shown that all Roth blue-veined cheeses have less than the detectable limit of 5 ppm of gliadin (the detectable component of gluten). This is far below the FDA’s proposed definition for gluten free products of 20 ppm. These tests include our range of blue-veined cheeses–Buttermilk Blue®, Blue Affinée and Moody Blue®.

Q: Do Roth cheeses contain bovine growth hormone?

A: All of our cheeses are 100% natural and most are rBST-free. However, it should be noted that no significant difference has been shown between r-BST supplemented and non-rBST supplemented cows.

Q: Are Roth cheeses made only from grass fed cow milk?

A: Since snow covers Wisconsin pastures in the winter it would be difficult to pull off. We leave the choice up to our farmers on how best to manage their herds. All feed their cows with a carefully chosen diet that can include fresh grasses when available. But you can be certain that all the milk we use is 100% natural and of the finest quality.